In 2011, Apple debuted a new app for iPhones called Find My Friends. The basic premise was that you could give consent to your contacts to see your location. From the beginning, it was panned as a privacy nightmare and, although it’s 7 years old, it does not seem like it’s used by that many people. It should be eliminated.
To be honest, I’ve never had a real issue with it from a privacy standpoint. People have full consent over whom is viewing their location and for long. To my knowledge, the entire process is end-to-end encrypted. In fact, this could be quite useful for parents who want to see their child’s location.
The real issue is that people don’t want to give others that much leeway. They’d much rather temporarily give that access using Messages. This was a nice experiment on the part of Apple, but there’s nothing wrong with acknowledging that it didn’t pan out as they had hoped.